Skip to main content
© Getty Image

COVID-19

Taking unprecedented action in response to the pandemic

March 2020. The COVID-19 pandemic plunged nearly every country around the world into an unprecedented health and social crisis. In response to the health emergency and the risk of a humanitarian disaster, the Foundation swung into action, providing emergency funds to help scientific research institutions and partner organizations.

More than 34 million confirmed cases. Over 1 million people dead. 213 countries and territories affected*. Economic sectors shut down. Countries in recession. These figures are alarming and continue to increase. The COVID-19 pandemic, with its unparalleled scope, has put our healthcare systems and social safety nets to the ultimate test. In response to this health and social emergency, the Air Liquide Foundation implemented the COVID-19 initiative in March 2020. The Foundation has provided for an exceptional additional fund of over two million euros for the next two years. The goal is two-fold: to support scientific research into the impact of the Sars-CoV-2 coronavirus on respiratory systems, and to increase aid to our partner organizations who are active on the ground, working with the populations that have been hit the hardest by the disease and the lockdown. The large number of requests received by the Foundation has led us to hold selection committee meetings more often so we could respond to requests as quickly as possible. The Committee and the Board have reviewed 35 projects and approved 94% of them.

* Figures as of 1st October 2020. Source: Worldometers.

The Air Liquide Foundation implemented the COVID-19 initiative in March 2020, providing an exceptional additional fund of over two million euros for the next two years

Testimonial

“In the long run, we need to better understand the Covid-19 virus to learn how to protect ourselves from it, and in the short term, we must support those who are most vulnerable to it”

Jean-Marc de Royere, Chairman of the Air Liquide Foundation - Senior Vice-President of Air Liquide

Read more

We have two responsibilities in the face of the health crisis: in the long run, we need to better understand the Covid-19 virus to learn how to protect ourselves from it, and in the short term, we must support those who are most vulnerable to it. In an unprecedented context, the Air Liquide Foundation has very rapidly launched the Covid-19 Initiative to commit to these two major issues, with the support of the Group’s expertise.

Close

Testimonial

“This unparalleled health crisis has highlighted the incredible engagement the Foundation teams bring, from project review to funds transfers.”

Bruno Leprince-Ringuet, General Manager of the Air Liquide Foundation

Read more

This unparalleled health crisis has highlighted the incredible engagement the Foundation teams bring, from project review to funds transfers. Each link in the chain got to work right away, demonstrating the power and efficiency of our organization. This unprecedented situation has also helped strengthen our ties with partner organizations. They all appreciate our proactive efforts. Their moving feedback and thanks have come pouring in and it shows that we are doing the right thing.

Close

Regards croisés sur l'action de la Fondation face à cette pandémie

Viewpoints from Professor Pierre Carli, volunteer Board member for the Air Liquide Foundation and Bruno Rostaing-Capaillan, representing the shareholders on the Project selection committee (2018-2020) on the Foundation's response to the pandemic

Number of supported projects since
March 2020

10

scientific projects

23

social projects

© Getty Image

Scientific Research Projects Advancing research to better understand and treat the virus

Advancing science so we can all breathe better. That is one of the Foundation's core missions. With a long track record of supporting scientific research on respiratory diseases, the Foundation got in touch with our scientific partners in the earliest days of the pandemic to find out what they needed and offer our help. To ensure that these COVID-19 research initiatives would be useful and effective, the Foundation set up an elite scientific committee comprising the Scientific director for the Air Liquide group, the Group's medical director and a Medical expert from the Project selection committee.
The Foundation is now supporting ten research projects that fall into three categories:

  • better understanding the virus, how it affects the lungs and how it is transmitted;
  • improving care for patients with respiratory failure;
  • understanding its long-term effects on the lungs.

These two-year projects are overseen by an Air Liquide scientific evaluator, with initial findings expected in the first quarter of 2021.

© Institut Pasteur
Healthy patient on the left, patient with SARS-CoV-2 on the right © Institut Pasteur

We support

projects from French and European research organizations: La Pitié Salpêtrière Hospital, Paris; International Center for Infectiology Research, Lyon; the Grenoble Alpes University Hospital Center and Grenoble Alpes University; Institut Pasteur, Paris; Vall d'Hebron Hospital, Barcelona; University of Liège, Belgium; Cochin Hospital & Association Robert Debré for medical research, Paris; KU Leuven, Belgium; François Jacob institute of biology and Institute of Cellular and Molecular Radiobiology (The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission - CEA), Paris.
This research primarily aims to:

  • improve understanding and diagnostics, especially by detecting biomarkers that can predict changes in the disease;
  • identify potential innovative antiviral treatments;
  • conduct a quantitative study of human and animal exposure via inhaled air and determine risks and prevention methods;
  • improve ventilatory monitoring at patients' bedsides to help healthcare workers;
  • conduct a two-year study of respiratory function in patients with pneumonia caused by COVID-19. 

The Foundation is also reviewing other projects from European research organizations that are working on respiratory treatments for COVID-19 and has committed to providing a response as soon as possible.

Testimonial

“The pandemic had just gotten underway when the Air Liquide Foundation contacted us and helped us purchase the fluorescence microscopy equipment we needed to continue our research.”

Dr Olivier Terrier, Researcher at CNRS VirPath Team, International Center for Infectiology Research, Lyon

Read more

Our research team started working in mid-January 2020 and we were quickly able to isolate several strains of the SARS-CoV-2 virus from samples taken from the first hospitalized cases in France. The pandemic had just gotten underway when the Air Liquide Foundation contacted us and helped us purchase the fluorescence microscopy equipment we needed to continue our research. As part of the EPICOV project supported by the Foundation, our goal is to do an in-depth study of the impact the SARS-CoV-2 virus has on the respiratory epithelium in humans. This project will help expand our understanding of the virus and COVID-19.

We began in vitro testing on many potential therapeutic molecules. Our work has been featured in many scientific publications and the data we collected led to several new clinical trials with volunteer patients in France.

Close
© Getty Image
© Virlanie Foundation

Social Projects Helping those hit hardest by the pandemic

Acting locally within communities to help the most vulnerable individuals is another of the Air Liquide Foundation's long-standing priorities. In response to the current health and humanitarian disaster caused by COVID-19, the Air Liquide Foundation is now supporting 23 emergency aid projects from organizations that are already partners of the Fondation. Located on every continent, these projects help the vulnerable populations that have been hit hardest by the pandemic. They deliver food or protective equipment and educate people about COVID-19 and ways to prevent the spread of the virus. The Foundation is ready to respond to the new crises set to emerge as part of the second wave.

© Valued Citizens Initiative

We support

projects that help vulnerable and at-risk groups:

  • Supporting housing organizations and shelters in Italy, Spain, France, Brazil and India and a healthcare center in the United States;
  • Donating food, medical supplies and hygiene products in Morocco, Senegal, Togo, India (Delhi, Noida and Chennai) and the Philippines (Manila and Cebu);
  • Combatting isolation for vulnerable people in France;
  • Promoting awareness campaigns about COVID-19 and ways to prevent the spread of the virus in India and Togo;
  • Offering educational and job placement support in France.

As with all Foundation projects, this work is monitored by Air Liquide employees.

Testimonial

“It was during this extraordinarily challenging time that the Air Liquide Foundation gave us a helping hand. A ray of hope! ”

Maurizio Ferrari, communication and development director for the Renato Piatti Foundation

Read more

The early days of the pandemic were incredibly difficult from an emotional and organizational point of view. We care for people with autism, intellectual disabilities and relational issues. During lockdown, nine of our sixteen facilities were still open, so we had to keep 367 people safe and cared for every day. It was during this extraordinarily challenging time that the Air Liquide Foundation gave us a helping hand. A ray of hope! We were able to buy gloves, masks and a lot of protective equipment. With all that we have learned, we are now better prepared to face what's coming next.

Close
Submit a project

Aller au contenu principal
© Getty Image

COVID-19

Une mobilisation exceptionnelle face à la pandémie

Mars 2020. La pandémie de la COVID-19 plonge la quasi-totalité des pays de la planète dans une crise sanitaire et sociale sans précédent. Face à l'urgence sanitaire, face au risque de catastrophe humanitaire, la Fondation se mobilise et débloque des moyens exceptionnels pour apporter son soutien aux organismes de recherche scientifique et aux associations partenaires.

Plus de 34 millions de cas déclarés. Plus de 1 million de morts. 213 pays et territoires touchés*. Des secteurs économiques à l’arrêt. Des pays au ralenti. Les chiffres sont alarmants et ne cessent d'augmenter. La pandémie de la COVID-19, d’une ampleur inédite, met à rude épreuve nos systèmes de santé et de solidarité. Face à l'urgence sanitaire et sociale, la Fondation Air Liquide lance, dès mars 2020, l’"Initiative COVID-19". La Fondation décide d'allouer une dotation exceptionnelle supplémentaire de plus de deux millions d’euros sur deux ans. L'objectif est double : soutenir des projets de recherche scientifique sur les atteintes respiratoires du virus coronavirus Sars-CoV-2, un enjeu de santé au coeur des missions historiques de la Fondation, et renforcer l’aide à des associations partenaires qui travaillent sur le terrain, auprès des populations les plus fragilisées par la maladie et l’impact du confinement. De nombreuses demandes parviennent à la Fondation et entraînent une forte accélération du rythme des comités de sélection pour répondre au plus vite aux besoins exprimés. Le Comité et le Conseil ont revu 35 projets et émis un avis positif sur 94 % d’entre eux.


**Décompte au 01/10/2020. Source : Worldometers

Dès mars 2020, la Fondation Air Liquide lance "l’Initiative COVID-19" et décide d'allouer une dotation exceptionnelle supplémentaire de plus de 2 millions d’euros sur deux ans.

Témoignage

« La COVID-19 nous place aujourd’hui devant deux responsabilités : à long terme, mieux comprendre le virus pour s’en protéger, et à court terme, soutenir les personnes les plus vulnérables face au virus.  »

Jean-Marc de Royere, Président de la Fondation d'entreprise Air Liquide - Directeur de la société Air Liquide

En savoir plus

La COVID-19 nous place aujourd’hui devant deux responsabilités : à long terme, mieux comprendre le virus pour s’en protéger, et à court terme, soutenir les personnes les plus vulnérables face au virus. Dans un contexte d'urgence sans précédent, la Fondation Air Liquide s'est mobilisée dès la première heure sur ces deux enjeux majeurs, avec l’appui des compétences du Groupe.

Fermer

Témoignage

« Cette crise sanitaire exceptionnelle a mis en avant l’engagement total des équipes de la Fondation, au niveau de l’étude des projets jusqu'au transfert effectif des fonds. »

Bruno Leprince-Ringuet, Délégué général de la Fondation Air Liquide

En savoir plus

Cette crise sanitaire exceptionnelle a mis en avant l’engagement total des équipes de la Fondation, au niveau de l’étude des projets jusqu'au transfert effectif des fonds. Chaque maillon s’est mobilisé pour agir vite et notre organisation a prouvé sa force et son efficacité. Cette situation sans précédent a également permis de renforcer nos liens avec les associations partenaires. Elles apprécient toutes notre pro-activité. Les témoignages de remerciements sont nombreux et émouvants et nous confortent dans nos choix.

Fermer

Regards croisés sur l'action de la Fondation face à cette pandémie

Regards croisés du Professeur Pierre Carli, Administrateur bénévole de la Fondation Air Liquide, et de Bruno Rostaing-Capaillan, représentant des actionnaires au sein du Comité de sélection des projets 2018-2020, sur l’action de la Fondation face à cette pandémie

Nombre de projets soutenus depuis
mars 2020

10

projets scientifiques

23

projets sociaux

© Getty Image

Faire avancer la recherche pour mieux comprendre le virus et soigner

Faire avancer la science pour que chacun puisse mieux respirer. C'est l'une des missions au coeur de l'action de la Fondation. Engagée de longue date dans la recherche scientifique sur les maladies respiratoires, la Fondation a contacté, dès le début de la crise sanitaire, ses partenaires scientifiques afin d’identifier leurs besoins et proposer son aide. Afin de garantir l’excellence et la pertinence de ses initiatives dans le domaine de la recherche sur la Covid-19, la Fondation a constitué un Comité scientifique de haut niveau, réunissant notamment le Directeur scientifique du groupe Air Liquide, le Directeur médical du Groupe et un médecin expert membre du Comité de sélection des projets. Elle soutient actuellement dix projets de recherche répartis selon 3 axes visant à :

  • mieux comprendre le virus, son action sur les poumons et ses modes de transmission,
  • améliorer la prise en charge des patients avec une insuffisance respiratoire,
  • connaître ses effets à long terme sur les poumons. 

Ces projets de deux ans sont suivis par un évaluateur scientifique Air Liquide ; les premiers résultats sont attendus pour le 1er semestre 2021.

© Institut Pasteur
Sujet sain à gauche, sujet atteint par le virus SARS-CoV-2 à droite © Institut Pasteur

Nous soutenons

des projets venant d’organismes de recherche français et européens : Hôpital de La Pitié Salpêtrière à Paris ; Centre International de Recherche en Infectiologie de Lyon ; Centre Hospitalier Universitaire et Université Grenoble Alpes ; Institut Pasteur de Paris ; Hôpital Vall d’Hebron à Barcelone ; Université de Liège ; Hôpital Cochin & Association Robert Debré pour la recherche médicale ; KU Leuven, Belgique ; Institut de biologie François Jacob et Institut de Radiobiologie Cellulaire et Moléculaire du CEA. Leurs travaux visent essentiellement à :

  • améliorer la compréhension et le diagnostic, notamment en mettant en évidence des biomarqueurs prédictifs de l’évolution de la maladie ;
  • identifier de futures approches thérapeutiques antivirales innovantes ;
  • mener une évaluation quantitative de l'exposition humaine et animale via l'air inhalé et déterminer les risques et les moyens de prévention ;
  • améliorer la surveillance ventilatoire au lit des patients et ainsi faciliter le travail du personnel soignant ;
  • suivre sur 2 ans la fonction respiratoire des patients atteints de pneumonie due à la COVID-19. 

La Fondation étudie par ailleurs d’autres projets venant d’organismes de recherche européens travaillant sur le traitement respiratoire de la COVID-19 et s’est engagée à y répondre dans les meilleurs délais.

Témoignage

« Très tôt au début de la pandémie, la Fondation Air Liquide nous a contactés et nous a permis d’acquérir des équipements de microscopie à fluorescence indispensables à la poursuite de nos travaux de recherche. »

Dr Olivier Terrier, Chercheur CNRS, Equipe VirPath, Centre International de Recherche en Infectiologie de Lyon

En savoir plus

Notre équipe de recherche a été mobilisée dès mi-janvier 2020, et nous sommes parvenus assez rapidement à isoler plusieurs souches du virus SARS-CoV-2 à partir des échantillons des premiers cas hospitalisés en France. Très tôt au début de la pandémie, la Fondation Air Liquide nous a contactés et nous a permis d’acquérir des équipements de microscopie à fluorescence indispensables à la poursuite de nos travaux de recherche. Dans le cadre du projet EPICOV soutenu par la Fondation, notre objectif est d’étudier de manière approfondie l’impact de l’infection du SARS-CoV-2 au niveau de l’épithélium respiratoire humain. Ce projet va contribuer à enrichir nos connaissances sur le virus et la COVID-19. Nous avons ainsi démarré l’évaluation in vitro de nombreuses molécules thérapeutiques candidates. Notre travail a fait l’objet de plusieurs publications scientifiques et les données récoltées ont contribué au démarrage de plusieurs essais cliniques sur des patients volontaires en France.

Fermer
© Getty Image
© Virlanie Foundation

Aider les plus vulnérables face à la crise sanitaire

Agir sur les territoires, au plus près des communautés locales, pour aider les personnes les plus vulnérables. C'est aussi l'une des missions historiques de la Fondation Air Liquide. Dans le contexte actuel de crise sanitaire et sociale liée à la COVID-19, la Fondation Air Liquide apporte actuellement son soutien à 23 projets d'aide d'urgence portés par des associations connues, déjà partenaires de la Fondation. Répartis sur tous les continents, ces projets viennent en aide à des populations fragiles, particulièrement impactées par la pandémie. Ils permettent essentiellement de leur fournir, rapidement, une aide alimentaire ou des équipements de protection, de recréer du lien et de les sensibiliser à la COVID-19 et aux gestes barrières. La Fondation est mobilisée pour faire face à de nouvelles situations d’urgence dans le contexte d’une deuxième vague.

© Valued Citizens Initiative

Nous soutenons

des projets qui permettent d’accompagner les populations fragiles ou précaires, notamment :

  • Soutien à des centres d’accueil et d’hébergement en Italie, en Espagne, en France, au Brésil et en Inde, ainsi qu’un centre médical aux États-Unis ;
  • Don de denrées alimentaires et de produits d’hygiène et médicaux au Maroc, au Sénégal, au Togo, en Inde (Delhi, Noida, Chennai) et aux Philippines (Manille, Cebu) ;
  • Actions pour rompre l'isolement de ces personnes en France ;
  • Campagnes de sensibilisation sur la COVID-19 et sur les gestes barrières en Inde et au Togo ;
  • Programmes de soutien scolaire et accompagnement vers l’emploi en France.

Comme pour tous les projets de la Fondation, les actions sur place sont suivies par un collaborateur Air Liquide.

Témoignage

« La Fondation Air Liquide nous a tendu la main. Une lumière dans l’obscurité ! Nous avons pu acheter des gants, des masques et de nombreux dispositifs de protection. »

Maurizio Ferrari, responsable de la communication et de la collecte de fonds à la Fondation Renato Piatti

En savoir plus

Le début de la pandémie a été difficile à vivre, tant du point de vue émotionnel qu’organisationnel. Nous avons en charge des personnes atteintes d’autisme, de déficiences intellectuelles ou relationnelles. Pendant le confinement, neuf de nos seize structures sont restées ouvertes, il fallait donc assurer quotidiennement la protection sanitaire et l’accompagnement de 367 personnes. C’est à cette période particulièrement compliquée que la Fondation Air Liquide nous a tendu la main. Une lumière dans l’obscurité ! Nous avons pu acheter des gants, des masques et de nombreux dispositifs de protection. Grâce à l’expérience acquise, nous sommes aujourd’hui mieux préparés à affronter la suite.

Fermer
Déposer un projet